Fertility Diet Plan

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately and have found articles suggesting the perfect diet for fertility and/or IVF success.  While I don’t believe that eating any magical foods will unblock my tubes, I do think that eating healthy could up our chances of having a successful IVF experience.  I found an article stating that the live birth rate could be up to 3x as high for women who eat avocado during IVF.  I should’ve probably started this by saying I am not a dieter, I do not wish to lose weight or eliminate any particular thing from my diet.  Food is my love language.  I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again.  I enjoy food, all kinds, including sour patch kids and Wendy’s.  Get over it.  I think the most important part of ensuring that I’m eating better is cooking at home.  We find that our food tastes better than what we spend 2-3 times the money on to eat out at a restaurant and we can control the butter, salt and fat contents if we make it ourselves.  Here’s what I’m eating this week.

Breakfast: Blueberry Power Muffins – I found this recipe on pinterest for blueberry muffins with oats and greek yogurt.  I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, added walnuts and used plain greek yogurt and added honey.  These were very easy to make and with blueberries, oatmeal, greek yogurt, whole wheat and nuts you can’t really go wrong.  (just ignore the fact that butter and sugar are included)

Blueberry Power Muffins

 

Lunch: Guacamole Salad and Chicken Salad

Here’s the recipe for the Guac Salad.  I don’t have a picture of it yet because I’m going to make it each day at lunch so my avocado doesn’t turn.  The Chicken Salad recipe, I found here.  It calls for greek yogurt instead of mayo and I left out the cranberries.

Chicken Salad with Greek Yogurt

Snacks:  Veggies and Dip.  I love veggies and dip, it is a staple in my house.  I like cucumbers, tomatoes, mushrooms, peppers, celery and broccoli.  I use a 16 oz. container of Sour Cream (full fat).  I’ve read conflicting articles about low fat dairy vs full fat when trying to conceive.  I mix it up.  All the greek yogurt I eat is low fat so I do full fat for everything else and 2% milk.  I buy Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix and mix it all up and viola, all done.  It’s easy, it’s yummy and it’s not all that bad for me.  The dip only contains 10% of your daily sodium.

Veggies

Ranch Dip

Dinner:  Grilled Turkey Meatballs with Whole Wheat Linguine and Tomato/Basil/White Wine sauce plus Olive Loaf and Oil for Dippng

I made the meatballs with ground turkey, onion, breadcrumbs, hot sauce, Worcestershire, A1 and some scallion pepper seasoning.  We discovered last week that you can grill them and they’re super yummy.  I used jarred tomato basil sauce and added white wine and put it all over whole wheat linguine.  We also have a loaf of 3 olive bread so I grabbed a chunk and made a bowl of olive oil, minced garlic, pepper and crushed red pepper for dipping.

Grilled Turkey Meatballs

Olive Loaf and Dipping

Whole Wheat Linguine with Turkey Meatballs and Tomato Basil Sauce with White Wine

 

Here’s to being as healthy as I can be!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Fertility Diet Plan

Leave a Reply

