And so it begins…

IVFDay1

Well, we did it!  Our first day of injections are over.  I thought I was going to be okay doing it myself, but my stomach started to flip-flop as I was staring at the needles and the vials.  Luckily, Kyle was more than happy to have the opportunity to stab his wife a few times with no repercussions (kidding of course!).  First we did the 15 of Low Dose HCG, followed by the 150 of Gonal-F.  We realized that the one thing the pharmacy hadn’t sent was gauze, which probably would’ve helped to put pressure on my skin so that the needles come out easier, we’ll have to pick some up for tomorrow.  It was relatively painless and Kyle did a great job.  A few minutes later my stomach started to have an ache/burning feeling at the injection site.  I’m assuming this is the medication getting into my system.  Work your magic, medicine!

This morning I had my baseline ultrasound and blood work which both came back good.  My next appointment is on Friday.  We will continue nightly injections of the same dose until then.

Thank you everyone for your well wishes and support through phone calls, texts, Instagram, the blog, Facebook and Twitter.  We’re glad we’re not in this alone.

Signature

2 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Congrats on getting through your first injection! My husband has already informed me he will have no trouble poking me with a needle. I hope things continue to go well for you!

    Like

    1. Thanks Shelly! It really wasn’t as bad as I expected. Fingers crossed that I don’t experience terrible side effects! Good luck to you too. Keep me updated! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

