A Mother is Born

At what point does one become a mother?  Is it conception, when the heart starts beating, when the baby begins to move, when the baby is viable if delivered or at birth?  Is it something that we always are, even before our children arrive?  Today felt like a pretty significant day and I had no idea it was going to feel like that.  We’ll be 12 weeks along tomorrow and today I had an ultrasound to check for birth defects.  The ultrasound lasted a really long time because they had to take all kinds of measurements on two babies.

I got to spend a lot of time just soaking them in.  Baby A was posing so nicely for all of the measurements and then started to move towards the end.  Baby B was moving pretty wildly the entire time.  Bringing a hand from belly to mouth, belly to mouth and back again.  It was the most incredible thing I’ve ever seen.  These babies are only 12 weeks along and they look like real babies and they move and they’re hanging out bunk bed style.  Baby B is up on top with their head on the left and Baby A is on bottom with their head on the right.

12 Weeks 244              12 Weeks 245

 

Signature

5 thoughts on “A Mother is Born

  1. There’s a science answer/definition I’m sure, but I feel like I’ve always been destined to be a mother, since a very young age. When I was pregnant with my daughter, I felt like a mother already right from the start. I may not have had a baby in my arms, but I had already started nourishing her, caring for her, and falling in love with her. We are moms long before they are born. Xx

    Like

  2. Hey Kristen! I hope you are doing well! We just had our embryos frozen and I already feel like a mother. 🙂 I don’t know if there is a right answer to your question, but I feel like emotionally, it depends on your heart. At what point do you invest all of your heart into being a mother? For me, I’ve felt like a mother every since I started trying to conceive. Perhaps that’s why the 3+ years of infertility has been so painful. Just my two sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

